1. Radio production of Ian Fleming's Goldfinger to feature Ian McKellen and Toby Stephens

    By Devin Zydel on 2010-01-26

    The cast and broadcast date has been announced for the forthcoming BBC Radio 4 production of Ian Fleming’s seventh James Bond adventure, Goldfinger.

    Ian Fleming's 'Goldfinger'

    Ian Fleming’s Goldfinger

    As reported on this past October, this 007 production will be handled by independent production company Jarvis and Ayres. Owned and run by actors Martin Jarvis and Rosalind Ayres, this is the same group that was responsible for the 2008 production of Dr. No, which was produced to mark the Fleming centenary in May.

    In addition to featuring Sir Ian McKellen in the title role, numerous James Bond film alumni will also star in the production, including: Toby Stephens (Die Another Day), Rosamund Pike (Die Another Day) and Tim Pigott-Smith (Quantum of Solace).

    The official news release follows:

    A brand-new radio recording of Ian Fleming’s Goldfinger has been produced by Jarvis & Ayres, featuring an all-star cast and scheduled to be broadcast on BBC Radio 4 over Easter weekend 2010.

    Dramatisation is by award-winning Archie Scottney – Murder She Thought and Spy Stories, Something Fresh (P.G. Wodehouse), Man of The Moment and A Small Family Business (Ayckbourn), The Mysterious Mr Quin (Agatha Christie), Shadowlands (Nicholson).

    As with Jarvis & Ayres’ production of Dr No, music is specially composed by Mark Holden and Sam Barbour.

    This remarkable radio adaptation stays true to Ian Fleming’s novel. A full cast list is below.

    GOLDFINGER – Ian McKellen
    JAMES BOND – Toby Stephens
    IAN FLEMING – Martin Jarvis
    ‘M’ – John Standing
    PUSSY GALORE – Rosamund Pike
    HAWKER – Alistair McGowan
    MR STRAP – Tom Hollander
    JOHNNY SOLO – Tim Pigott-Smith
    DU PONT – Henry Goodman
    ODDJOB – Jon David Yu
    HELMUT SPRINGER – Hector Elizondo
    COL. SMITHERS – Ian Ogilvy
    TILLY – Lisa Dillon
    FELIX LEITER – Lloyd Owen
    JILL – Anna-Louise Plowman
    JED MIDNIGHT – Nigel Anthony
    DOCTOR – Kyle Soller
    NIGEL KELTON – Matthew Wolf
    ALFRED BLACKING – Alan Shearman
    NIGEL KELTON – Matthew Wolf

    Keep visiting the main page and our Discussion Forums for the most up-to-date 007 coverage on the web.

    Visit on…
    Twitter | Facebook | MySpace