1. 2009 CWA Dagger Award winners announced

    By Devin Zydel on 2009-07-16

    According to the official website, the CWA Dagger Awards were handed out last night in London at the Tiger Tiger nightspot.

    The CWA Dagger Awards celebrate the very best in crime and thriller writing, and are the longest established literary awards in the UK. These premier awards in crime fiction are recognised internationally as a mark of excellence.

    The shortlist for the 2009 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger award is yet to be announced, however. This particular award and the £2,000 prize will be handed out on 21 October 2009.

    The broadest definition of the thriller novel is used for eligible books; these can be set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction and/or action/adventure stories. Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller – that ‘one simply has to turn the page’; this is one of the main characteristics that the judges will be looking for. A book is eligible if it was first published in the UK in English between 1 June 2008 and 31 May 2009.

    The judging panel for the 2009 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award will consist of The Moneypenny Diaries author Samantha Weinberg, Sarah Fairbairn, Philip Gooden, Rob Williams and David Wilson. The panel is chaired by Corinne Turner, Managing Director of Ian Fleming Publications Ltd.

    For additional details, visit the official website.

    For up-to-the-minute literary James Bond coverage, always turn your browsers to the main page. Be sure to check out our new Twitter feed as well.