1. Raymond Benson's Recent Non-Bond Works

    By Devin Zydel on 2008-04-17
    Raymond Benson

    Raymond Benson

    Even though he finished his tenure as James Bond continuation author in 2003 with the publication of the Die Another Day novelization, Raymond Benson has since kept busy with several original works.

    As reported on in the past, he authored the first two novels in Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell series under the pseudonym of David Michaels in 2004 and 2005, respectively.

    After that his original thriller Sweetie’s Diamonds was released in early 2006.

    Fast-forward to April 2008. Currently available online and at bookstores is Benson’s newest novel, A Hard Day’s Death.

    Raymond Benson's 'Splinter Cell'

    Raymond Benson’s Splinter Cell

    This thriller takes place in the nasty, dangerous world of rock ‘n’ roll and involves a private investigator who must solve the murder of a famous rock star. Told with tongue firmly in cheek, this humorous romp will especially appeal to readers who know their music. Real-life rock stars make cameo appearances throughout the story, and Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull has already said this about the book: ‘Raymond Benson cuts a frantic dash through the world of Rock and Roll. Thrills-a-plenty and backstage passes to the magical mystery musical twilight zone…’

    Another non-Bond release to keep an eye out for is the forthcoming first-in-a-series novel Metal Gear Solid, based on the hugely popular video game of the same name.

    Metal Gear Solid will be released on 27 May in the US and 5 June in the UK. Pre-order online:

    007 fans best know Benson as the author of six James Bond continuation novels, three short stories and the film novelizations for Tomorrow Never Dies, The World Is Not Enough and Die Another Day. Click here for CBn’s four-part interview with Raymond Benson.

    Stay tuned to the CBn main page for all the latest literary James Bond-related news.